## **RESOLUTION 1-2024**

## A RESOLUTION SUPPORTING THE BOARD APPORTIONMENT AND NUMBER OF BOARD OF TRUSTEE MEMBERS OF THE CACHE VALLEY TRANSIT DISTRICT EFFECTIVE JANUARY 1, 2024

WHEREAS, in the 2023 general session, the Utah State Legislature amended Utah Code 17B-2a-807 to adjust the number of permitted board members for small transit districts; and

WHEREAS, the Municipal Council finds that the current number of board members of the Cache Valley Transit District Board does not comply with the code amendment; and

WHEREAS, the Municipal Council has the authority to change the apportionment and number of the Cache Valley Transit District Board.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE RIVER HEIGHTS MUNICIPAL COUNCIL, as follows:

The Cache Valley Transit District Board of Trustees shall consist of nine members.

The Cache Valley Transit District Board shall have the following apportionment between the various municipalities, counties, and unincorporated areas within the service areas of the Cache Valley Transit District effective January 1, 2024:

Number of members	Cities	Area
4	Logan	Area 1
1	North Logan / Hyde Park	Area 2
1	Smithfield / Richmond / Lewiston	Area 3
1	Providence / River Heights	Area 4
1	Hyrum / Millville / Nibley	Area 5
1	Cache County	Area 6

The apportionment may be adjusted from time to time if there is a material change in population of any of the above municipalities, if additional areas are incorporated, or if an additional municipality is added to the Cache Valley Transit District's service area.

Where more than one municipality or county is listed in each area, the appointment of a member of the Board of Trustees shall be a unanimous appointment by the mayors of the municipalities and shall be approved by the municipalities' respective councils.

ADOPTED AND APPROVED BY THE RIVER HEIGHTS MUNICIPAL COUNCIL, STATE OF UTAH, THIS 19TH DAY OF MARCH 2024.

Jason Thompson, Mayor	
ATTEST:	